//
you're reading...
My Life, My Reading

Look who’s back, back again…

Well, well, well… what have we here? Some fine lady getting fancy for the camera in front of the Memorial Amphitheater at Arlington National Cemetery in Washington D.C? I believe we surely do!

I spent the last week enjoying many of the things that our nation’s capital has to offer… museums, exclusive meetings with some of the movers and shakers of the free world, exquisite cuisine (especially on the Amtrak, ha!), and best of all, quality time with a handful of my favorite people. I destroyed my feet after walking what I think is somewhere between 70 and 80 miles, dropped five pounds, and got more Vitamin D than I have in ages.

Here is a cumulative list of things that I already miss, having been home for less than 48 hours:

  • Subways
  • Trader Joe’s
  • Continental breakfasts with my friends
  • Being surrounded by history
  • The Library of Congress
  • Seeing a few particular people for a minimum of ten hours per day, guaranteed
  • Inside jokes
  • The opportunity to quench my endless curiosity while getting course credit and traveling
  • Museums, and not being the only one that reads all of the displays and gets ditched by the group
  • Cone of Silence talks in the late evening hours

While a few of us are already excited to plan follow-up weekend trips to Chicago and/or DC, I can’t help but wish I was back there NOW!

Le sigh… the plight of a Midwestern dreamer.

While visiting Mount Vernon I picked up two books… Washington’s Spies: The Story of America’s First Spy Ring and Slinging Mud: Rude Nicknames, Scurrilous Slogans, and Insulting Slang from TwoCenturies of American Politics.

I was quite proud of myself for only coming home with a total of three new books. My friend Greg would send me warning texts (because, as I said, I always managed to fall behind the group…fascinated with one thing or another) when a book-filled gift shop or display was coming up.

He teased me a little bit but I know deep down he was just as excited about those books as I was! The beauty of this trip was that, at the heart, all of us are nerds and this was essentially a nerd convening with perks that would make the cool kids drool.

Feel free to check out the Facebook page that our group used to share photos while on the trip! I have about 75 more coming in the next few days, and I have a feeling the rest of the students have plenty more to add as well. I will be updating our trip blog with my notes and summaries of each thing we did, in case you’d like to live vicariously a little bit through me! 😉

Until next time,

CFB

 

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Look who’s back, back again…

  1. Glad you’re home, and looking forward to the additional posts on FB. As for reading all the displays at museums, I have to chuckle. Remember when we took you as a small child to museums, and we wanted to read all the displays? You have become one of us!

    Posted by loisbroughton | March 12, 2012, 4:18 pm

Don't be shy...Spill your guts!

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events

Goodreads

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 140 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 656 hits
