//
you're reading...
My Life, My Reading

Feeling quite blessed…

 Hello everyone!

As promised, I am not great about updating my blogs on a regular basis but I can assure you that I am trying! Blogging is kind of a release for me… A platform through which I can share my life and explore my interests. I love writing and have thought about updating this blog three times since the last time I actually did so. Sigh… Life got in the way.

So, here is the skinny on what’s new in my little borrowed corner of the universe. I anticipate hitting the big TEN POUNDS DOWN mark this Friday, which isn’t too shabby at all after only three weeks of sincere effort! 

My new job with the Office of Advancement at PNC is going well, although I think it will take time for me to get my bearings and really understand all that those ladies do to support the university, its staff, faculty, students, and mission. That’s all the better though, really, as I love to learn!

We have elected 4 bright new shining stars as SGA Representatives in the past month and I am excited to continue whatever work I can to prepare the next generation of student leaders to take the reins. 

I have had very limited time to work on my novel, but I do think of it daily! AND… Drumroll please… I have been informed that a short story of mine will be published on a website and in a newsletter! More details to come if this actually pans out!

My sweet mother took a week off work and led the charge in assisting me with wedding preparation and I really couldn’t be more grateful! I thank God every day for my wonderful family… At least I should. Sometimes I’m too self involved to actually do that.. So there is always room for improvement. With the assistance of my sister (and maid of honor) and grandma, we have accomplished the following during the past week:

1) Chose a photographer

2) Chose a florist

3) Chose a processional and will soon have the recessional worked out

4) got the contract for reserving my church for the ceremony

5) got pre-marital counseling talks rolling

6) decided on certain details of the ceremony and who we want to carry them out

7) made centerpiece decisions and started collecting materials… Thanks largely to my mom’s coworker and her husband (thanks guys!) who cut up a tree for us (thanks for the chainsaw, Matt’s dad!)

8) picks up some decorations for random other things we will need 

9) reserved the bridal shower location for the Chester shower

10) made decisions on invitations, save the dates, registry places, wedding programs, and shower invites

As you can see. I would have been lost without my mom this past week 🙂 Also, thank you Dad for being a sport and coming along to meet with photographers!

In other news, I have been reading three books. I continue to read Taft 2012, and it’s still hilarious! I am also reading The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn and just picked up Crime and Punishment. I am still shocked that I have never read either of those. 

I met with some people from my church early on Sunday and am going to be participating in a service-based ministry that a few of us want to lead in order to connect our congregation with the community by serving various faith based and secular non-profit organizations. I will share more as our plans develop, but Jerry (our pastor) asked each of us to start reading a book called When Helping Hurts. I picked it up on Sunday night and thought it would be dry, but as a Christian and as an avid volunteer, I have been charging through it and am completely inspired! 

Because I have a 14 hour day tomorrow and really must get to bed, I will expound on that more in a later post… But I will leave you all with this, a few excerpts from When Helping Hurts:

“Economic historians have found that for most of human history there was little economic growth and relatively low economists inequality. As a result, by the year 1820, after thousands of years of human development, the average income per person in the richest countries was only about four times higher than the average income per person in the poorest countries. Then the Industrial Revolution hit, causing unprecedented economic growth in a handful of countries but leaving the rest of the world behind. As a result, while the average American lives on more than ninety dollars per day, approximately one billion people live on less than one dollar per day and 2.6 billion – 40 percent of the world’s population – live on less than two dollars per day.”

“seek justice, encourage the oppressed. Defend the cause of the fatherless, plead the case of the widow. (Isaiah 1:17)”

“Dear children, let us not love with our words or tongue but with actions and in truth. (John 3:18)”

Discussion

One thought on “Feeling quite blessed…

  1. You have been busy in many ways, Cassie! But the last part, HELPING WHEN IT HURTS, is a lifetime kind of busy that will bless you and everyone you come in contact with throughout your life. Seeking the heart of God always leads us to service to others. It’s an adventure worth the price of sacrifice!

    Posted by Lois Broughton | February 21, 2012, 3:03 pm

Don't be shy...Spill your guts!

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events

Goodreads

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 140 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 656 hits
