//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Howdy!

Hi there, bloggers and lovers of bloggers alike! This is hardly my first blog…there are plenty of disturbing tendrils of my persona and life floating through cyberspace already but, surprisingly (if only to myself), none represent what I consider to be a central and prominent aspect of who I am. 

What is that? 

Well, if the domain name of this blog wasn’t revealing enough or if you are one of those unfortunate characters that feel the need to ask tedious questions ad nauseum, then the answer to your question is reading. Even moreso, writing, hence why I am choosing to blog about what I am reading. 

Because I am vain, I may occasionally choose to focus on writing about how I am reading my own writing. I trust that you won’t mind, considering you are bored or lost enough to be reading this blog to begin with. I hope that you become entertained and less lost as a result of reading what you have found! We never fully stop being lost, do we?

A brief introduction is in order. I am a soon-to-be college graduate who has taken her sweet time in finishing the beginning of her post-secondary education. As a proud “lifelong learner” and a “professional student,” I am certain that my education does not here. Whether in a formal or informal setting, I imagine I will always pursue a wider worldview. Many people associate expanding their worldview with traveling the globe but I the trick is less about seeing and more about understanding. But hey… that could be because I am trying to come to terms with the fact that my soon-to-be husband hates flying and is far too tall to be comfortable on a train (which I found out after years of getting grief over a 40 hour round-trip trek from Indiana to New York before we began dating, ala Amtrak).

Reading, whether it be books, web content, magazines, periodicals, academic journals, the Bible, social media, or postcards that I wish you would send me, has always been cathartic for me. Writing became the next step and my journey with that has been flatout transformative.

The purpose of this blog is to record my thoughts about what I am reading and writing, but I cannot promise I won’t spiral off into anecdotes and/or rants about encounters, situations, and relationships from “real life.” I have come to believe that this is okay… aren’t we living online half of the time anyways?

Oh, one last thing… I also cannot promise my posts will be consistent or frequent. Maybe this will help my self-discipline in terms of writing daily. I am currently 57000 words into my first serious attempt at a novel, but I find it has come in 10,000 word spurts and not a page or two per day. I am also extremely involved in about 20 organizations, initiatives, and projects at my university… but I’ll save all of that for later. As I said, life is bound to squeeze itself between the lines here and there.

I’m off to see the wizard… the wizard named Sheldon Cooper! Be still my heart…. BAZINGA!

Discussion

One thought on “Howdy!

  1. Words are the essence of who we are. Even the Bible says that what we say is actually what is in our heart. I love to read what you write, so keep it coming, but only when it’s what can’t be contained. If you force words, it’s like trying to make a cake bake faster. G.K Chesterton, not only a fantastic writer but a pithy and witty chap, said it well: “There is no such thing on earth as an uninteresting subject; the only thing that can exist is an uninterested person.”
    -G. K. Chesterton, Heretics (1905)

    So I, for one, am interested in anything you write, and looking forward to a chatty repartee with an up and coming 21st century author!!

    Posted by Lois Broughton | February 2, 2012, 3:07 pm

Don't be shy...Spill your guts!

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events

Goodreads

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 140 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 656 hits
